FEMA approves derecho aid for 7 more Iowa counties

    A strong storm on Aug. 10, 2020, known as a derecho, included strong winds that damaged docks at Big Creek State Park near Polk City. (Photo courtesy of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources)

    The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved aid for seven more Iowa counties with widespread derecho damage, Gov. Kim Reynolds announced Friday.

    Added to the list of counties in line for assistance after the Aug. 10 storm were Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hardin, Iowa, Jackson and Washington counties. The presidential declaration applies to public entities and select nonprofits.

    FEMA had already approved 16 other counties for the assistance: Benton, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Dallas, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Marshall, Muscatine, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story and Tama.

    The Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in Iowa received a separate declaration from President Trump on Thursday.

    The funding can be used for “emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities,” FEMA reported.

    Perry Beeman
    Senior reporter Perry Beeman has nearly 40 years of experience in Iowa journalism and has won national awards for environmental and business writing. He has written for The Des Moines Register and the Business Record, where he also served as managing editor. He also is former editorial director of Grinnell College. He co-authored the recently published book, "The $80 Billion Gamble," which details the lottery-rigging case of Eddie Tipton.